There is a discussion around Suncrest that is reflected in the greater church world about the place for compassion and justice issues as a ministry.  Some of the biggest questions surround the issue of purpose:

  • Do we meet needs in order to share the Gospel?
  • Do we meet needs just to meet needs?
  • If we meet needs without every sharing the Gospel, did we fail?

The questions probably go on and on and I certainly won’t answer them here.  But I was struck today in reading Galatians 2:8-10:

For God, who was at work in the ministry of Peter as an apostle to the Jews, was also at work in my ministry as an apostle to the Gentiles. 9 James, Peter and John, those reputed to be pillars, gave me and Barnabas the right hand of fellowship when they recognized the grace given to me. They agreed that we should go to the Gentiles, and they to the Jews.

10 All they asked was that we should continue to remember the poor, the very thing I was eager to do.

What caught my attention is the encouragement to remember the poor regardless of the “target” of the ministry.  Paul was taking the Gospel to the Gentiles.  Peter targeted the Jews.  Yet both were to remember the poor.

This is a tough issue for me as I did not grow up being taught that social action ministries had importance in the church.  Yet it is clear from Scripture that they should.

I like how this article shines light on the issue providing a framework in which to view the interplay between social action and proclamation.  While I am not settled on the author’s conclusion, I do like the direction.

“The relationship of word and deed in ministry has varied over time. The results have been varied. Evangelism or social action has presented a truncated gospel. Evangelism as primary and social action as secondary has not measurably affected societal ills. Social action as primary has seen evangelism’s decline in the face of so many pressing needs. But evangelism as ultimate-that is, ministry has not been completed unless evangelism has taken place-provides the balance we seek.”

And to that I ask, isn’t the opposite true?  Is evangelism really done unless we have completed the task of social action where their is need?  If we have proclaimed but not met the need that is present, have we really been faithful to the Gospel?