I always experience this “hango-over” from attending a conference.  The Sticky Church Conference was a bit different because it was at Suncrest and I had a few other things to do as well.

One thing I try to do is narrow down a list of take-aways.  That way I can at least point to a few specific things in which a conference helped me in.  I am not sure this is my final list, but it is a start:

(In no particular order.)

  • The best date night is group. If you can only pay for baby sitting one night, make it go to group. The best mom and dad you can be is to be the best husband and wife. And your kids don’t need a mom and dad who’ve seen the latest movie.
  • We don’t need a Christian version of community agencies we can partner with them to help instead of reinvent (Osborne).
  • Going multi-site pushes the gas pedal of a church decentralizing.
  • (Reminder) Smaller venues in a multi-site church create the “small church” feel that many people are looking for (Scott Chapman).  This reminded me of the Rick Warren-ism, “The only person that likes a big church is the pastor.”
  • The stickiest thing you have in your church is close and tight relationships (Osborne).
  • Everything Northcoast does is aimed at Christians but it is always done in a way that a seeker can understand (Osborne).
  • Visitor retention – assimilation; Long-term retention – discipleship
  • We get what we measure and celebrate. Retention seldom makes the list (Osborne).
  • At Northcoast they try to velcro people to the Bible and a community