What’s holding you back?

I think that is a great question to ask ourselves everyday.  What’s holding me back from being who God wants me to be? What’s holding me back from accomplishing the dream God has placed in my heart? What’s holding me back from doing what I said I was going to do 5 years ago?

In Tribes, Seth Godin suggests it is one thing: FEAR.

Fear of failure or what he calls a “lack of faith.”

“The only thing holding you back from becoming the kind of person who changes things is this: lack of faith. Faith that you can do it. Faith that it’s worth doing.  Faith that failure wont’ destroy you. (71)”

Another nuance to our fear is blame and criticism.  What will people say?

“We choose not to be remarkable because we’re worried about criticism.” (46)

How do these things hold you back?  How do you let fear drive you?

I’ve blogged before about my fear of criticism.  Yet having been criticized plenty in my life…

…for being a pastor…

…for preaching too loud…

…for being too funny… (okay I made that one up)

…for home educating our children…

…for launching a 2nd campus with video…

…the criticism never hurt more than the pay off of accomplishing the goal.

So what is holding you back? What do you dream about?

Read this book…and then get out there and lead.